Monday, 7 July 2014

2014 Tour de France Stage Three Report

Stage 3 Cambridge - London 155km

Embedded image permalink

The breakaway was established at Kilometre 0. As Jan Barta of NetApp-Endura and Jean Marc Bideau of Bretagne-Séché Environment, they quickly established a 4 minute 30 advantage over the peloton. That was quickly shortened to 3 minutes. The first crash of the day involved Jan Bakelants who crashed into Florian Vachon (Bretange) at a slow pace after 60km. At the Intermediate sprint in Epping, Bideau out sprinted Barta to take the €1500. In the peloton, Coquard took on Sagan (Cannondale) and Demare (, and he beat them both to take 3rd place and 15 points. Here the lead of the breakaway was down to just 1'16''. As the race entered London, the race became more hectic. As Andy Schleck and Ed King were involved in small crash with 35 km to go. After no sprinters team took up the chase in the peloton, the break's lead grew; by the time the leaders entered the Olympic Park with 25km to go the leaders had a lead of over 2 minutes. As the peloton entered the Olympic Park, the  breakaway's lead started to fall, so did the rain. With 15km to go, Saxo-Tinkoff came to the front to protect Contador. As the leaders went under the 10km banner their lead fell to a mere 31 seconds. Here, the sprinters' teams as well as Saxo-Tinkoff came to fore: Lotto-Belisol, Giant-Shimano, Cannondale and Omega Pharma - Quick-Step. Jan Barta attacked with 5 miles of racing to go, whilst Bideau was caught by the peloton. Barta was caught with a mere 6 km to go. The speed were incredibly high for a wet run in, as with 2km to go the speed of the peloton was 63 km/h. There was a crash with 1600m to go, it was at the back of the peloton so no sprinters were involved. As the riders entered the Mall, Marcel Kittel was perfectly led out by Giant-Shimano to win the Stage from Peter Sagan who was in 2nd. Jan Barta was given the Combativity award.

Stage Three Result:

2.SVKSAGAN Peter51CANNONDALE03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
3.AUSRENSHAW Mark77OMEGA PHARMA-QUICK STEP03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
4.FRACOQUARD Bryan153TEAM EUROPCAR03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
5.NORKRISTOFF Alexander23TEAM KATUSHA03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
6.NEDVAN POPPEL Danny167TREK FACTORY RACING03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
7.AUSHAUSSLER Heinrich194IAM CYCLING03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
8.ESPROJAS GIL José Joaquin18MOVISTAR TEAM03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
9.FRAFEILLU Romain214BRETAGNE - SECHE ENVIRONNEMENT03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
10.ITAOSS Daniel145BMC RACING TEAM03h 38' 30''+ 00' 00''
For More Classifications click here

No comments: